The Commission is served by a full-time paid chairman and comprises a total of twenty members representative of the ten provinces of Canada. There is a staff of seven officials reporting to a general manager, and a permanent work force of about 600.

Co-ordination and development of public lands in the National Capital Region are undertaken by direct planning and construction by the Commission's staff; by co-operation with municipalities; by provision of planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects; and by advising the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all Federal Government buildings in the 1,800-sq. mile National Capital Region. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works.

National Gallery of Canada.—The beginnings of the National Gallery of Canada are associated with the founding of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1880. The Marquis of Lorne, then Governor General, had recommended and assisted the founding of the Academy. One of the three tasks he assigned to that institution was the establishment of a National Gallery at the seat of government.

By Act of Parliament in 1913, re-enacted in 1951, the National Gallery was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (RSC 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of the national art collections. Through its Exhibition Extension Service, travelling exhibitions, educational services such as lectures and art films, guided tours of the National Gallery collections in Ottawa and other services to the general public are controlled. In addition, the National Gallery publishes art publications and reproductions which are distributed by the Queen's Printer,

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of Halifax, N.S.; Saint John, N.B.; Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Vancouver, B.C.; and Churchill, Man.; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Productivity Council.—Established by Act of Parliament (SC 1960, c. 4), the Council operates under the terms of the National Productivity Council Act assented to Dec. 20, 1960. The Council consists of 25 members, one of whom is designated Chairman, and includes five members from industry and commerce, five from organized labour, five from agriculture and primary industry, five from the general public, four officers or employees of Her Majesty, and an Executive Director.

The function of the Council is to promote and expedite continuing improvement in productive efficiency in the various aspects of Canadian economic activity and in particular to foster and promote (1) the development of improved production and distribution methods; (2) the development of improved management techniques; (3) the maintenance of good human relations in industry; (4) the use of training programs; (5) the use of re-training programs; (6) the extension of industrial research programs; and (7) the dissemination of technical information. The proceedings of the Council, which is not an agent of Her Majesty, are reported to Parliament each year through the Ministers of Trade and Commerce and Labour. (See footnote, p. 115.)

National Research Council.—This is an agency of the Canadian Government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The Council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian universities and industries; sponsors Associate Committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in International Scientific Unions. Patentable inventions developed in the Council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited (see p. 118). The National Research Council consists of a President, three Vice Presidents, and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. The Council is incorporated under the Research Council Act (RSC 1952, c. 239, as amended), and reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Defence Production).

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to provide electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council.